Skip navigation
Back to News 23 September 2016

National award nominations for Tonsley architecture

National award nominations for Tonsley architecture

Tonsley’s design excellence has again been recognised after being nominated for four awards at the 2016 National Architecture Awards.

The awards, which take place in Sydney on November 3, recognise the architectural designs completed as part of the Main Assembly Building (MAB) and the State Drill Core Reference Library.

The 2016 Awards received over 890 entries and the jury shortlisted projects from 209 entries deemed eligible following the extensive chapter award program held earlier in the year.

Jury chair Jon Clements said the “exceptional and inspiring” projects in contention had sparked debate among the jury.

Tonsley is only one of two South Australian locations to be shortlisted for the National Architecture Awards.

The winners will be announced at an evening ceremony hosted by Fenella Kernebone on 3 November in Sydney.

2016 National Architecture Awards Nominations

Tonsley MAB and Pods by Woods Bagot and Tridente Architects

  • Heritage
  • Sustainable Architecture

South Australia Drill Core Reference Library by Thomson Rossi

  • Commercial Architecture
  • COLORBOND® Award for Steel Architecture


The National Architecture Awards nominations follow on from Tonsley’s recent successes at the 2015 World Architecture News Awards, where Tonsley won the award for Adaptive Reuse after also collecting seven awards at the South Australian Architecture Awards in July 2016.

The National Architecture Awards, presented by the Australian Institute of Architects, have been held annually since 1981 and are the most prestigious in the design and construction industry.


Stay up to date with the latest news, developments events and activities at Tonsley Innovation District